Celiac Disease and a Gluten-Free Eucharist

Recently, the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments reiterated the Church’s teachings regarding the matter of the Eucharist – notably that Communion hosts must be wheat bread, and therefore contain some amount of gluten. This has led some people to think that celiacs (or simply those allergic to wheat / gluten)…